• •Increase font size•
  • •Default font size•
  • •Decrease font size•
Home Local Sports Mavericks-Crystal City Football Game Prelim Report: Fri. Aug. 31, 2018

Mavericks-Crystal City Football Game Prelim Report: Fri. Aug. 31, 2018

•E-mail• •Print• •PDF•


Mavericks geared to gore the

Crystal City Javelinas

By: Conrado Perez, Jr. – Eagle Pass Sports Central

“Your best and only source for local sports news in Eagle Pass”

The Pride of Southern Maverick County, the defending Bi-District finalist C.C. Winn Mavericks varsity football team under the direction of sixth year head football coach Eric Villasenor will hit the road on Friday, August 31, 2018 to the Spinach Capital of the World Crystal City, Texas to kickoff their 2018 Texas High School football season with a 7:30 PM non-district gridiron encounter. The Mavericks venture into this season with their sights focused on capturing the District 14-5A football championship and earning a berth into the post season for the third consecutive year.

The home standing Crystal City Javelinas out of District 14-4A Division II will be under the tutelage of head football coach David Lopez return the services of 5 offensive and 5 defensive starters from an Area finalist squad that culminated last season with a 9-3 overall season record.

Offensively the Crystal City Javelinas will be spearhead by their standout running back David Patino who is big, strong with great speed and tough to bring down who last season gained 1029 yards rushing and tallied 15 touchdowns on the ground, Starting signal caller for the Javelinas is expected to be John Saucedo with the offensive line featuring Alfonso Mata and Michael Cuevas and tight end Nathan Arredondo.

Defensively the Javelinas will have two way starter Michael Cuevas and John Lomas on the front line, with Justin Morales and Justin Bonilla at linebackers. Stellar running back David Patino is also a two way starter and will be the leader of the Javelinas defensive secondary.

The 2018 C.C. Winn Mavericks offense under the guidance of offensive coordinator Heriberto Roiz will be led by their talented starting quarterback Ethan Johnston #2 who lead the team in rushing with 156 carries for nearly 800 yards with 9 rushing touchdowns as well as in passing with 70 completions out of 124 attempts for 900 yards and threw 3 TD passes. Joining him in the backfield will be Marc Cardenas #22 and Fernando Zapata #24 who will share the running back duties for the Mavericks. The perennial massive offensive line will feature Daniel Ruiz #50 as the starting center with Adrian Munoz #74 and Juan Guerra #72 at guards with Cesar Valdez #79 and Jaime Rodriguez #73 at tackles. The Mavericks passing game will feature Jose Blanco #88 and Ernesto Vasquez #13 as the wide receivers with Jared Roiz #6 and Raul Solis #23 as the inside receivers.

The Mavericks Special Teams will see Emmanuel Oviedo #65 handling the punting duties with the placekicking chores being entrusted to either Mario Contreras #64 or Ernesto Fuentes #57. The all important deep snapping responsibility will be handled by Austin Flores #82.

The famed Mavericks aggressive and hard hitting defensive unit will be mentored by co-defensive coordinators Rene Ramirez and Saul Salas. The men on the defensive trenches will feature standout Alejandro Ontiveros #94 and Alexis Ontiveros #48 as the defensive tackles with Jose Hinojosa #43 and Ricardo Morales #46 as the defensive ends. Patricio Hernandez #3, Alex Garcia #32 and standout Miguel De Los Santos #33 will be the Mavs patented quick pursuing and hard hitting line backing corp. The Mavericks swift secondary will be patrolled by veteran German Velasquez #21 and Gilberto Vasquez #20 at the corners with the experienced Domingo Duran #5 as the strong safety with Azael Rodriguez #31 as the weak safety and Hector Nunez #11 as the free safety.

The 2018 mighty C.C. Winn Mavericks’ football coaching staff will be spearheaded by head football coach Eric Villasenor, Heriberto Roiz will serve as the Mavericks offensive coordinator and quarterbacks coach, Rene Ramirez will continue to serve as the co-defensive coordinator as well as the defensive backs coach, Saul Salas will also continue to serve as the co-defensive coordinator as well as the linebackers coach, Carlos Soto will be the running backs coach as well as the co-special teams coordinator, J.J. Iracheta, Jr. will once again be the defensive line coach as well as the co-special teams coordinator, The remainder of the Mavericks varsity coaching staff will be comprised by Fred Paniagua as the outside receivers coach, Isaac Gracia as the inside receivers coach, Domingo Lopez as the all-important offensive line coach, Johnny Hernandez as the defensive ends coach and Ricardo Hoffman as the defensive backs coach,

The Mavericks sub-varsity coaching staff will be comprised by Paulo Valero, Tony Martinez and Randy Garza mentoring the freshmen team with Rolando Salinas, Jr. and Eric Ramos coaching the Memorial Jr. High 8th grade squad and Chris Biddle and Roberto Hoffman leading the Memorial Jr. High School 7th grade squad.

Eagle Pass Sports Central would like to sincerely wish the mighty C.C. Winn Mavericks varsity football team the very best of luck against the Crystal City Javelinas as well as throughout the entire season and invite the entire Mavericks Nation and entire Community of Eagle Pass, Texas to make the trip to Crystal City this upcoming Friday night and support the mighty C.C. Winn Mavericks varsity football squad. GO MAVERICKS! BEAT THE JAVELINAS!

Arriba los Mavericks!





??No images ??


Monday, June 10, 2019 to Saturday, June 15, 2019

Schedule, Time & Site are subject to change without notice



Monday through Thursday






@ Kickapoo Lucky Eagle Casino



@ Kickapoo Lucky Eagle Casino


@ Omaha, Nebraska