• •Increase font size•
  • •Default font size•
  • •Decrease font size•
Home Local Sports 2018 District 29-6A All-District Baseball Selections

2018 District 29-6A All-District Baseball Selections

•E-mail• •Print• •PDF•


2018 District 29-6A

All-District Baseball Selections

Rey Rey Mendoza – Most Valuable Player

By: Conrado Perez, Jr. – Eagle Pass Sports Central

“Your best and only source for local sports news in Eagle Pass”

With the Laredo Alexander Bulldogs the lone remaining District 29-6A baseball representative having been finally eliminated from the post season, Eagle Pass Sports Central has been authorized by Eagle Pass Eagles head baseball coach Reynol Mendoza to announce the 2018 all-district baseball selections as voted on by the respective district head baseball coaches during their annual post regular season meeting held on Wednesday, April 25, 2018.

Spearheading the local all-district selections was pitcher Rey Rey Mendoza who was voted the district’s Most Valuable Player by the respective district head baseball coaches. Earning a berth in the elite all-district first was pitcher Eric Heredia, second baseman Isaac Gonzalez, shortstop Dee Andre Torres, outfielder Derek Ibarra and designated hitter Braulio Rodriguez. Eagle Pass Eagles head coach Reynol Mendoza was selected Co-Coach of the Year along with Fernando Lemus of Laredo Alexander and Bobby Bencsh of San Antonio Southwest.

Garnering a berth in the all-district second team was pitcher Edward Mendoza and first baseman Isaac Roque. Earning a berth in the honorable mention squad was catcher Christian Del Bosque and outfielder David Lopez.

Eagle Pass Sports Central congratulates each of these outstanding Eagle Pass Eagles varsity baseball players on your most deserving honor in being selected to the elite 2018 District 29-6A all-district baseball team and we thank each of you for representing Eagle Pass High School as well as the entire community of Eagle Pass, Texas with dignity, pride and class and we wish each of you continued success in all of your endeavors. Way to Go Eagles!

Most Valuable Player

Rey Rey Mendoza, Jr. Eagle Pass

Co-Newcomers of the Year

Nate Beyer, Southwest HS

Adrian Castillo, United HS

Co-Coach of the Year

Reynol Mendoza, EPHS

Fernando Lemus, AHS

Bobby Bensch, SWHS

Utility Player

Daniel Quiroz, United HS


1st Team

Eric Heredia, Eagle Pass HS

Isaiah Zavala, Southwest HS (Unanimous)

Albert Gonzalez, Alexander HS

Marcelo Perez, Alexander HS

Manny Gamboa, LBJ HS

Javier De Alejandro, South San HS

Marco Raya, United South HS

2nd Team

Paco Hernandez, Alexander HS

Eric Lerma, South San HS

Jesus Paez, United South HS

Edward Mendoza, Eagle Pass HS

Honorable Mention

Christian Ibarra, United HS

Homero Saldivar, United HS

Greg Campos, United South HS

Alex Ramirez, LBJ HS

Jose Estrada, Southwest HS


1st Team

Jorge Gonzalez, Alexander HS

2nd Team

Fabian Contreras, Southwest HS

Honorable Mention

Christian Del Bosque, Eagle Pass HS

1st Base

1st Team

Eric Hernandez, Southwest HS (Unanimous)

2nd Team

Isaac Roque, Eagle Pass HS

2nd Base

1st Team

Isaac Gonzalez, Eagle Pass HS

2nd Team

Alan Villarreal, United HS

Honorable Mention

Matt Castillo, Southwest HS

3rd Base

1st Team

Isaiah Zavala, Southwest HS

Derek Christman, United HS


1st Team

Dee Andre Torres, Eagle Pass HS

2nd Team

Fernando Benavidez, United HS

Bernard Pedraza, United South HS

Honorable Mention

Joel Hinojosa, Alexander HS


1st Team

Enrique Gonzalez, United South HS (Unanimous)

Gerardo Villarreal, United South

Cesar Davila, LBJ

Derek Ibarra, Eagle Pass (Unanimous)

Marcelo Perez, Alexander HS

2nd Team

Albert Gonzalez, Alexander HS

Chris Ibarra, United HS

Anthony Maldonado, Del Rio HS

Honorable Mention

Benkis Ramirez, Alexander HS

Tristan Castilleja, Southwest HS

David Lopez, Eagle Pass HS

Rene Mercado, United HS

Jonathan Hernandez, United South HS

Designated Hitter

1st Team

Braulio Rodriguez, Eagle Pass HS

2nd Team

John Ramos, South San HS

Honorable Mention

Omar Cervantes, United HS

Ramon Lopez, LBJ HS





??No images ??